Studying abroad is one of the most exciting experiences one can ever have in their life.

Being in a different country, speaking a different language, and experiencing a  culture and environment, gives every student a push to be better and think about life in a different way.

Like any person in my age, traveling and studying abroad is dream. And few have the chance to experience it. Jacksonville State University is one of few universities that offer international program for foreign students to experience culture exchange. And what makes this program so great is that it also benefits American students, through the international house.

As an international student for the first time in the United States, I had a lot of challenges in different areas; such as language, culture and, the way of living. When I first arrived at the Jones International House, I had fear and excitement all at the same time. Being far away from my parents and my country was a big challenge for me. Living in the International House affected my personal thoughts and my way of living. It gave me the chance to learn about different cultures and be friends with people from all over the world.

Over these past three semesters, I have made the International House my home. The first semester here I grew. And much like a baby does, I crawled and took tentative baby steps. I was confused and rushing to learn different things, but I had so much to learn in such a short period of time.

During my second semester, like a child, I started to walk properly here at Jacksonville. State. I made friends outside the International House, talked to professors, and went to different events in the campus. Also, I started to learn more about college life here in the United States.

And as I start my third semester, life has seen me fall head-over-heels in love with the state of Alabama. As I stated before, if you had asked me two years ago where I would be studying abroad, I probably would have said somewhere in Europe, never thinking of studying in the United States. But through the international programs here at JSU, I found myself in Alabama for college, falling in love with the state and being more intrigued by the country.

By Jwan AlZoubi

Staff Reporter

Leave a Reply

