I never would’ve thought in a million years that I, Marvel Robinson Jr., would’ve been Sports Editor of a college campus newspaper.
To be honest, it’s hard for me to believe that I’m graduating from college. Well, I am and it’s about that time to let it soak in. I am the Sports Editor of my college campus newspaper, The Chanticleer, and I am indeed ready to graduate this fall on December 18, 2015. I’m just not as eager to say goodbye as I was to say hello.

I started with The Chanticleer in 2013 as a staff writer. I remember being so naïve and new to this newspaper thing. I covered sports, but I used to not even know what to write about because I wanted it to be perfect since it was going in the campus newspaper. I was so excited about writing about sports and just seeing my name in the paper. I thought that was the coolest thing ever. Then, I got that phone call. Christiana Tyler, former Arts & Entertainment Editor of The Chanticleer, called me in the early part of the summer of 2014. I don’t answer numbers I don’t know or recognize, so she left a message. I checked my voicemail, and after bouncing back and forth on the couch, I called her back and knew then that I basically had the job.

I remember meeting with Marie McBurnett (Chief Editor of The Chanticleer) for an interview later that summer. I was a little nervous, but it went really well. She was cool and I knew we would get along easily. Besides, she played a big role in hiring me, so how could I ever turn my back on her. With that being said, shout out to Mike Stedham (my adviser) for recommending me for the job.

Sports Editor was way cooler than just being a staff writer. For one, I had an office with my own key. Not to mention, we, The Chanticleer, pretty much have the best parking spots at Self Hall. It was more fun than work for me because I love sports. I used to love sitting in the press box and watching the football games. That was a nice view and even a better feeling. I also used to like being court-side at the basketball games. Those situations really made me feel like somebody important, somebody special.

This has been an amazing experience for me and it has been an honor to work for The Chanticleer. I’ve been around to see three different staffs. Man, just saying that makes me feel older than I am. This school and this job helped me open up more and they both helped jump-start my career. I’m a better writer than I was before and most of all, I’m a better person. Thank you, Chanty!

Marvel Robinson
Sports Editor

Leave a Reply

